Sevier County, Tennessee areas and communities

Please use this page to learn more about the different areas of Sevier County in the Smoky Mountain. You can learn more about the area by clicking the communities below.

  • Bluff Mountain
  • Boyds Creek
  • Cobbly Nob
  • Cosby
  • Douglas Lake
  • Gatlinburg
  • Jones Cove
  • New Center
  • Pigeon Forge
  • Pittman Center
  • Sevierville
  • Seymour
  • Townsend (and Walland)
  • Waldens Creek
  • Wears Valley
Aerial View of Pigeon Forge and the Parkway
Aerial View of Pigeon Forge and the Parkway

Cities in Sevier County, Tennessee

The only incorporated areas of Sevier County are Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, and Pittman Center. Among these cities the population of Sevierville is by far the largest.

Sevierville is the county seat of Sevier County and is the home to most of the county government offices. Sevierville was founded in 1795 and incorporated in 1901. The number of people within the city limits of Sevierville according to the 2010 census was 14,807.

Pittman Center incorporated and became a town in 1974, at least in part, to preserve its mountain heritage. The area was concerned with Gatlinburg’s expanding city limits and wanted to ensure Pittman Center didn’t have the same commercialism as Gatlinburg. The population of Pittman Center according to the 2010 census was 502. An increase of 25 people from the previous census total of 477.

Seymour is census designated place (CDP) that is unincorporated. It is located in the western portion of Sevier County and extends into Blount County, Tennessee. The area is accessed primarily from Chapman Highway and Boyds Creek Highway. In the 2010 Seymour’s population per was 10,919 according to the census.

Other Smoky Mountain Communities

The remainder Smoky Mountain communities in Sevier County, Tennessee are census designated places or areas known by locals by their names. Places such as Wears Valley, Waldens Creek, New Center, and Jones Cove each have their schools in their areas.